Security Guard Certification Requirements in Connecticut
Connecticut regulates the security service industry. In order to be hired as a security guard by a security service or business, an individual must hold a security guard certification ID. Security guards must be registered by the security service that employs them; armed guards must be registered whether they work for a security service or a proprietary entity.
In order to be hired as a security guard, an individual must have reached the age of 18. In order to be hired as an armed security guard, he or she must have reached the age of 21. The applicant will need to demonstrate appropriate training and acceptable legal background.
Individuals can also be licensed in private security. Requirements for the private security service license are set higher. The private security licensing also entails payment of significantly higher fees.
- Featured Online Security, Government Studies and Criminal Justice Program Options:
- Purdue University Global is one of the largest providers of public safety education programs compared to other Title IV institutions. The Criminal Justice Certificate in Private Security introduces students to the field of corporate and private security. Additional programs in Criminal Justice, Criminology, Public Safety and others are offered at the Certificate, Associate's, Bachelor's and Master's levels. Click here and take a minute to explore the Purdue University Global programs today.
- Liberty University, ranked in the top 1% of online colleges, offers an undergraduate online Criminal Justice degree that prepares students for a variety of roles in the criminal justice system while maintaining Christian values. Learn more about this and other programs offered by Liberty University.
Select a Connecticut Security Guard Certification Topic:
- Find Security Training Near You
- Security Guard Certification and Registration Requirements in Connecticut
- Firearms Endorsement Requirements and Application Process in Connecticut
- Private Security Service License Requirements and Application Process
- Security Guard Certification Application Process
- Licensing Departments and Additional Information
Security Guard Certification and Registration Requirements
To receive a certification card, an individual must complete training approved by the Commissioner of Emergency Services and Public Protection. The eight hour course covers first aid, public safety, use of force, basic criminal justice, and laws and regulations concerning search and seizure.
The eight-hour course may be waived on the basis of equivalent training completed in the National Guard or armed services. A veteran of the armed services must present qualifications within two years of discharge in order to have the course requirement waived.
Certification is also dependent on clearing a criminal background check. The applicant cannot have been convicted of a felony or sexual offense; some other offenses would be disqualifying.
Security Guard Application Process
The student can expected to be fingerprinted at course completion; the licensing agency will expect two sets, printed on the required forms.
Several fees will be due to the State of Connecticut Treasurer. The background check entails payment of two separate fees, one for $50 and the other for $14.75. Certification costs $100.
The instructor will sign the required application form.
The individual is expected to provide a copy of his or her Connecticut driver’s license and, if applicable, naturalization papers.
Required materials will be submitted to the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit.
Instructions are available on the website; prospective security guards should visit the “forms” section and click “Administrative Directives for Security Officer’s Training Certification ID Card”.
Employers must ensure that their security guards are registered. The registration form can be downloaded from the website of the Connecticut Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection.
Firearms Endorsement Requirements and Application Process
The fireams permit endorsement requires completion of an additional course. The course is to be one that has been approved by the Commissioner of Emergency Services and Public Protection; the Department has published a list of instructors ( http://www.ct.gov/despp/cwp/view.asp?a=4213&Q=494628&desppNav_GID=2080&desppNavPage=%7C#firearms_permit). A prospective permit holder will also receive a list when he or she makes an application request. The prospective armed guard will learn firearm safety and range training. The individual will need to pass a range test to qualify.
Students can expect to receive permit applications from their instructors; the instructor will sign that training requirements have been met. Applicants may also request forms by calling (860) 685-8160.
The armed security guard will need to complete a refresher course each year.
Private Security Service License Requirements and Application Process
In order to receive a private security service license, an individual must be at least 25 years of age. He or she must have either 1) five years of security experience at the supervisory level or 2) ten years of experience as a police officer. The applicant cannot, however, be a current police officer. Pertinent education may substitute for up to a year of the required experience; this is at the discretion of the licensing agency.
The professional must take out a liability insurance policy that covers $300,000. It will also be necessary to post a $10,000 performance surety bond.
The licensing agency will require evidence of education at at least the high school level; general equivalency can be accepted.
The applicant will need four reference letters. The original copies are to be sent directly to the licensing agency.
The applicant will also need to provide a credit bureau report, three-year driving record, and a copy of his or her current driver’s license.
Applicants who have served in the military must provide documentation showing the type of discharge. The licensing agency can accept a DD-214 or NGB-22.
Applicants who are in psychiatric care will provide a letter from the psychiatrist or psychologist addressing license suitability.
An out-of-state licensee will provide verification of credentialing.
The licensing agency will need two passport-style photographs; specifications are found in the application directions.
A background check is required. The applicant may not have felony convictions. Some misdemeanor convictions are disqualifying.
The private security license application requires notarization.
Private security service applicants can expect to be scheduled for oral interview.
The initial license fee is $1,450. The two-year renewal fee is $625. Fees are subject to change.
Licensing information is available from the Connecticut Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection (http://www.ct.gov/despp/cwp/view.asp?a=4213&Q=494628&desppNav_GID=2080&desppNavPage=%7C). Prospective security guards are invited to call (860) 685-8046 with their questions. They may email ‘dps.spec.licensing at po.state.ct.us’ if they cannot access the form that they need.